bankHometown News

Hometown Bank Community Bancorp, MHC Conducts Annual Meeting

OXFORD, MA – The annual meeting of Hometown Community Bancorp, MHC was held on Thursday, May 22 at Tatnuck Country Club in Worcester.

Chairman of the Board Jeanne L. Katrenak presided over the meeting, welcomed attendees and provided a brief summary of the role of Corporators in the newly-formed mutual holding company.

Clerk Henry J. LaMountain, Sr. presented the report of the nominating committee and the following nominees were elected as Corporators: Norma Collins, Sharon Dimopoulos, Michael D. Hewitt, Joseph J. Klimavich, Kathryn Latour, Michael P. Mahlert, Deanna Mills, John Nutter, Jonathan Oglebay, Susan Simeone, Karen Yancik and Edward Woodcome.

Corporators re-elected Trustees Steven H. Duvarney, Jeanne L. Katrenak and James O’Coin for three-year terms and Henry J. LaMountain, Sr. for a one-year term as Clerk of the Corporation.

Hometown Bank President and CEO Michael D. Hewitt reported on the Bank’s activities during the prior year, its financial performance and its favorable standing among other Massachusetts banks of a similar size for the fiscal year ending December 31, 2013. “At year-end, Hometown Bank had total assets of $365 million, and increase of 10.9% over the previous year,” Hewitt reported, “compared to a growth rate of 6.5% by other banks in our peer group. Our net income was at 0.98% compared to an average of 0.58% for our peers.”

Hewitt went on to describe a number of activities that will mark Hometown Bank’s 125th anniversary year, including its new “Everyday Hometown Heroes” program that is shedding a light on monthly honorees who exemplify the spirit of volunteerism in their local communities. He also announced that the Bank is offering special 125th anniversary rates on 12, 24 and 60-month CDs and Super Money Market Checking accounts.

Ms. Katrenak concluded the meeting with a presentation to retiring director, Daniel S. Rovero who has served Hometown Bank in that capacity for 12 years.

“Dan has always been an active and valuable member,” she told the group, “and he has served on each of our committees over the years.” Mr. Rovero will remain a Corporator and continue to be involved with the Bank, she said.

At a subsequent annual meeting of the Trustees of Hometown Community Bancorp, MHC, the following individuals were appointed as officers for 2014: Michael D. Hewitt, President and Chief Executive Officer, Jonathan Oglebay, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer and Henry J. LaMountain, Sr., Clerk